Eye of the West by blame_the_monkey Canyonlands National Park is a breathtaking location and after visiting, I can definitely see why so many people flock to the famous Mesa Arch.

Admittedly, I was hesitant to visit because I knew it was going to be a crowded shooting experience. But after scouting the location thoroughly the afternoon before, I realized how perfectly the arch would frame the unique and vast landscape beyond. While scouting, I also relied on the PhotoPills app on my iPhone to perfectly predict the exact location of the sunrise. I felt that the key to this shot was to frame the scene with incorporating a strong star burst on the rising sun.

If you want to learn my entire landscape photography and post-processing workflow from start to finish, both in the field and in editing, I’ve created an in-depth video tutorial course: http://bit.ly/landscape-tutorial http://flic.kr/p/ToBHgb

Leave a Reply

